June Favorites: Jesus Edition

I follow a lot of beauty vloggers/bloggers on the internet and one of my favorite parts is the monthly favorites they post. I thought I would do my own with a spin.I love Jesus and live to share him with others, so I thought I would bring to you my monthly favorites that have inspired me, touched me and showed me the love of God.

Here we go!

1. The book of Jonah

picture by Kendra Harman
picture by Kendra Harman

This month at church was all about the book of Jonah. As children we hear this story hundreds of times, probably even if you never attended church you know a small part of Jonahs story. As Christians it is easy to read the bible and look over particular people that we think we already know or that we have nothing in common with. Truth is, I found parts of myself in Jonah that I did not expect to find.

Jonah was faithful to God until the day God asked him to do something that he did not want to do. Jonah ran away to Tarshish, as far away as possible from Nineveh, where God was calling Jonah to go. Doesn’t this sound familiar? Doesn’t this hit home for a lot of people? As believers in Christ, there has been or will be a point in our lives when we will run from God just as Jonah did. Our plans do not always match up with what God has planned for us, so we run!

The oceans grew angry and the sailors Jonah was with were throwing cargo overboard to lighten the load. Jonah knew that the God had caused this storm because of him, so Jonah asked the other passangers to throw him over. Once in the water, the oceans grew calm. A large fish came and swallowed Jonah where he would stay for three days and three nights until he was spit up on dry land.

Jonah 3:1 Then the word of the Lord came to Jonah a second time:

God came to Jonah a second time. Telling him to go to Nineveh and proclaim the message he was given. Jonah went this time and proclaimed the word of God. Jonah grew angry that God was showing grace to the Ninevites and yelled at God.

Jonah 4:11 And should I not have concern for the great city of Nineveh,in which there are more than a hundred and twenty thousand people who cannot tell their right hand from their left?

Although the story of Jonah is small, it is very great. These were a few of the take aways from the past month of Jonah:

  • You can run from God but you can’t outrun God
  • It’s never too late to pray
  • God is the God of second chances
  • God wants us to be concerned with eternal things and not worldly things

CCV provided a great way of getting to know Jonah and to see the similarities in yourself. Here is a link to all four sermons if you would like to know more, I surely did not touch on all of the greatness that Pastor Todd Clark did.

Sources:

You can watch all of the sermons on Jonah here!

2. Journaling

picture by Kendra Harman
picture by Kendra Harman

I have taken a lot of comfort in keeping a journal. Everyone needs an outlet to vent and complain and to just revisit your day. Writing it down in it’s own space is what I need. There are so many interesting way to keep a journal so do not be afraid to have fun with it. I write down my thoughts, memories, and quotes in this book. I glue pictures, doodle, and write down my devotions.This book is a space for me and my mind to wonder completely and freely. I find support and comfort where I do not find it during the day. I find gratitude where I do not see it around me at times. I find love for myself when I do not see it in the mirror.

I don’t feel pressure to keep up with it everyday or to make it look perfect and this makes it easier to keep.

3. Instapray app

provided by Google images
provided by Google images

I found this app a while ago as a Google play recommendation. This app is yet another form of social media, but is purely used for pray and encouragement. Instapray allows you to post a prayer request and have people leave uplifting comments l. You can pray for these people, repray and share their experience, and intereact with people all over the world. I love this app because it not just for one type of person or belief.

From what I see, everyone from all walks of life has a need for prayer and a desire to do so and this allows them to pray and give prayer to others. Pray has the power to lift you off the ground and having other people pray for you is such a blessing. You can find this app on Google play and the Apple store. Give it a go and allow yourself to be honest and open about what you need to pray for. For those certain people who are prayer warriors, this app is fantastic.

I hope everyone likes this and I will continue to do it monthly. Share and comment if you like and have a blessed Sunday.

Thanks for reading and God Bless.

6.28.15

Leave a Reply

