Tattooed Christians

I have been thinking a lot about this topic recently, mainly because I have been considering a new tattoo!  I was thinking about whether getting tattooed is a sin or not and as a Christian, does this take away from the example I want to set? After searching the Bible, I don’t believe that is a sin or that it makes me less of a Christian.

Here is what I found.

Typically what I see when others dispute against tattoos is from Leviticus 19:28, which reads, “You shall not make any gashes in your flesh for the dead or tattoo any marks upon your body: I am the LORD.”  Upon reading this verse, it clearly mentions tattoos in any translation. What people do not quote or bother to read is what comes before in verse 23, “When you come into the land and plant all kinds of trees for food, then you shall regard their fruit as forbidden- three years it shall be forbidden to you.” or maybe verse 26, ” You shall not eat anything with blood. You shall not practice augury or witchcraft.”  Now I know that we do not wait three years to eat fruit from a tree and most people definitely eat meat. Sometimes the bible is not so literal for us today. Culture has changed a lot from the days of Leviticus. I went searching around for the history surrounding this time and it put chapter 19 of Leviticus into some perspective. God was giving various laws to Moses and his people as they entered their newly found freedom. At the end of the chapter is verse 37 it reads, ” Keep all my decrees and all my laws and follow them. I am the LORD.” A lot of the old testament was God giving wisdom and rules to live by to keep them healthy and happy. With some history background I found that there were pagan cults in the area that Moses was entering. God did not want his people to be associated with the pagans who were tattooing themselves to worship idols and mourn the dead. I mean, God was just looking out for his people, as he always does. Tattoos today can mean a multitude of things, but mainly it is something unique to each person, and I know that I am not getting anything on my body that would indicate me worshiping an idol.

Another verses that is given in reference to tattoos can be 1 Corinthians 3:17, “If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy that person. For God’s temple is holy and you are that temple.”  Now when I read this, I think more internal as apposed to our body. I think that He is referring to our soul and our mind. There are so many things that can be done to our bodies to destroy them; drugs, alcohol, food, plastic surgery, medicine, etc. Getting piercings and dying your hair could be considering ruining the temple of your body as well, anything that changes the way that you were created.

I could have completely missed the mark on this. I am not a preacher nor am I well educated in the bible, but this is what I took from these verses.

Another take away is to realize that tattoos are kind of a big deal. They are an expensive piece of art that will carry on towards your elderly age. Unless you have no cares in the world, which some people really don’t, tattoos should be thought about before hand.

Thank you for reading and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

